DRM Reception Project Forums  

Go Back   DRM Reception Project Forums > DRM Reception Project > General Topics
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2005-10-16, 21:03   #1
carknue
Registered User
 
carknue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,321
Exclamation New version of DRMcalc

I just uploaded the new version 4.0 of DRMcalc. The new features are:

- extended SNR scale to 44dB
- a more detailed time scale
- hardcopy direct to your windows printer
- TX location update is always enabled ( let me know, if you miss a location)
- improved color scheme

Free download as usual at:
http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drm.htm
__________________
regards, Carsten
AOR 7030 + Wellbrook ALA 1530P & DWT + Degen DE31 + TG33

Free DRM Tools for analysing, controling and automating your DRM reception and logging

Last edited by carknue : 2005-11-27 at 20:05.
carknue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-16, 23:00   #2
dk8cb
Roland
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 2,748
Re: DRMcalc

Quote:
Originally posted by carknue

- TX location update is always enabled

I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that.

Roland
dk8cb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 00:10   #3
carknue
Registered User
 
carknue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,321
Re: Re: DRMcalc

Quote:
Originally posted by dk8cb


I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that.

Roland

Here is the code of the TX location update function for those who don't trust it. First URL is just a trigger for a downloadcounter. Here is nothing downladed because this function cannot execute the download script. The second downloads the drmtx.txt file and that is a simple text file.

if chkupdate.Checked then
begin
Memo1.Lines.Text:=GetURLByIndy('http://www.downloadcounter.com/cgi-bin/download.pl?username=carknue&account=66');
Memo1.Lines.Text:=GetURLByIndy('http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drmtx.txt');
if Memo1.Lines.Text<>'' then
begin
StringList1:=TStringList.Create;
StringList2:=TStringList.Create;
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.new');
StringList1.LoadFromFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.new');
try
StringList2.LoadFromFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
except
end;
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: ok';
if StringList1.count = StringList2.count then
begin
for t:=0 to StringList1.Count-1 do
begin
if StringList1[t]<>StringList2[t] then
begin
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: updated';
end;

end;
end
else
begin
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: updated';
end;
end
else
begin
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: failed!';
//showmessage('Update failed');
end;
end;
__________________
regards, Carsten
AOR 7030 + Wellbrook ALA 1530P & DWT + Degen DE31 + TG33

Free DRM Tools for analysing, controling and automating your DRM reception and logging
carknue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 03:14   #4
Owdjim
Sysop
 
Owdjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Marahau, Tasman Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 823
Hi Carsten

What will happen when I use DRMcalc on my laptop with no internet connection? Will I have to wait for it to "time out" before I can graph logs?

Cheers, Chris
__________________
Marahau, New Zealand, 41° 00' 22"S 173° 00' 33"E, RE68mx
Elad FDM-DUOr, KiwiSDR, FRG-100/DRM receivers + Wellbrook ALA1530S+ loop antenna
My DRM webpage: http://www.owdjim.gen.nz/chris/radio/DRM/
Owdjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 10:01   #5
FritzWue
Registered User
 
FritzWue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 40km west of Muenster,NRW,Germany
Posts: 6,269
Hi Carsten,
thank you for your work with DRMcalc,

but I agree with Roland:
"I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that."

Here both radio pcs are not connected to the internet, so this feature is useless for me anyway. I get the updates by starting the software on a different pc from time to time and the data transfer with usb stick or old fashioned with a:\.
Unfortunately even inserting the line "Auto Update=0" in the DRMcalc.ini does not work any more.

Sorry to say: The new look in black is terrible. Where can I change that to a more eye friendly and better readable design?

@Chris: The delay is about two seconds on a 3GHz P4 system, will probably take a little longer on a slower system.

I went back to DRMcalc3.1 and will not install the 4.0 version on my notebook.
__________________
Friedrich.....DK6QI.....52°N 07°E
https://www.qrz.com/db/dk6qi/

Last edited by FritzWue : 2005-10-17 at 10:03.
FritzWue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 12:49   #6
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shizuoka City, Japan
Posts: 10,097
Quote:
Originally posted by FritzWue
Sorry to say: The new look in black is terrible.


Hi Carsten,

Unfortunately, I have to say the same thing. Why not put a parameter in so you could have a choice of either black or gray (like in the Dream Setup)?

Back to 3.1

Terje
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 13:39   #7
mitajohn
Registered User
 
mitajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 7,579
Hi Carsten,

Very good work done, but unfortunately, I agree with the comments made.

Back to 3.1 !

John
mitajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-17, 23:24   #8
carknue
Registered User
 
carknue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,321
It is not necessary to have an open internet connection in order to work with DRMcalc 4.0. The delay should only be 1-2 seconds. DRMcalc is fully functional without an internet connection.

My intension behind is, to avoid screenshots in this forum that contains either no TX-RX distance calculations or wrong distances. The distance and direction from TX is quite important, especially for broadcasters.

I changed the background color, because there were some complaints about the legibility of the yellow graph on some XP desktops schemes. Now there is a maximum legibility on all desktop schemes and this is also important.

Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors and it would be quite difficult to compare the results.
__________________
regards, Carsten
AOR 7030 + Wellbrook ALA 1530P & DWT + Degen DE31 + TG33

Free DRM Tools for analysing, controling and automating your DRM reception and logging
carknue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-18, 00:02   #9
dk8cb
Roland
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 2,748
Quote:
Originally posted by carknue
It is not necessary to have an open internet connection in order to work with DRMcalc 4.0. The delay should only be 1-2 seconds. DRMcalc is fully functional without an internet connection.

Hi Carsten,

if one has an open internet connection but has denied DRMcalc the right to access this connection through an appropriately configured firewall or if one has to do this manually (because the programme does not contain such a feature itself), then it will take longer!

If DRMCalc does not have the switch built-in anymore, what then is the function of the checkbox, marked in the attachment?

Quote:
Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors ...

It is very strange to read this in a statement from someone who, in the past, was among the first ones to modify Dream for a different color scheme in accordance with his personal taste.

Roland
dk8cb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-18, 05:45   #10
FritzWue
Registered User
 
FritzWue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 40km west of Muenster,NRW,Germany
Posts: 6,269
Hello Carsten,

some thoughts:

-
"My intension behind is, to avoid screenshots in this forum that contains either no TX-RX distance calculations or wrong distances. The distance and direction from TX is quite important, especially for broadcasters."
-

I think there is only a very low percentage of beginner's reports with missing distances, and you still depend on the user to use the right coordinates. So a correct distance is still not sure.

-
"I changed the background color, because there were some complaints about the legibility of the yellow graph on some XP desktops schemes. Now there is a maximum legibility on all desktop schemes and this is also important."
-

Maybe for programmes and machines, I cannot read the scaling lines anymore.

-
"Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors and it would be quite difficult to compare the results."
-

For me this all is not a matter of taste but - as you want- a matter of legibility. Why not use a white background and something different than yellow then. I don't care if it's white or grey background, but black is the worst solution for my eyes.

By the way, I just tested the printing option with my Epson printer.
Do you have a contract with the ink industry?
My printer really prints the black background, the paper is all wet!

Again I think white background would be the best solution.

Regards
Friedrich Wuelfing
DK6QI
__________________
Friedrich.....DK6QI.....52°N 07°E
https://www.qrz.com/db/dk6qi/

Last edited by FritzWue : 2005-10-18 at 05:49.
FritzWue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-18, 14:03   #11
mitajohn
Registered User
 
mitajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 7,579
Hello Carsten,

In addition to the above, it is obvious that you cannot add a black text, as comment, on the black graph background...

John.

Last edited by mitajohn : 2005-10-18 at 14:11.
mitajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-18, 21:50   #12
carknue
Registered User
 
carknue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,321
Exclamation DRMcalc 4.0a released

I just uploaded DRMcalc 4.0a with two fixes:

- TX location update can be disabled again by user
- changed graphic window background from black to white in hardcopy


If someone cannot see the scalelines, I would strongly recommend to adjust brightness and constrast levels of the monitor with a full greyscale testpattern.

Free Download as usual:
http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drm.htm
__________________
regards, Carsten
AOR 7030 + Wellbrook ALA 1530P & DWT + Degen DE31 + TG33

Free DRM Tools for analysing, controling and automating your DRM reception and logging
carknue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-19, 00:26   #13
Bob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Albans UK
Posts: 73
Hi Carsten,
I have just downloaded and tried out v4.0a - it's great - I can read the scale lines and it's prints very nicely !
Congratulations again on a nice piece of software.

regards
Bob
__________________
Winradio G303Pro, RCA AR-88D/Sat-Service Schneider LC mixer, plus Wellbrook LA5030 Indoor Loop, longwire antenna
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-19, 07:25   #14
mitajohn
Registered User
 
mitajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 7,579
Hi Carsten,

Congratulations again on this nice piece of software, but please listen to this:
If someone adds i.e a color text comment on the black background will not be printed the same and if it is white collored text then will not be printed on the white background.
My proposal is to add a parameter to have a user defined background, white, black or windows grey.

John.
mitajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2005-10-19, 08:17   #15
FritzWue
Registered User
 
FritzWue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: 40km west of Muenster,NRW,Germany
Posts: 6,269
Quote:
Originally posted by mitajohn
My proposal is to add a parameter to have a user defined background, white, black or windows grey.

John.

Like this?
Fritz
Attached Images
File Type: png 15440_051016_your_username_3.png (74.0 KB, 1480 views)
__________________
Friedrich.....DK6QI.....52°N 07°E
https://www.qrz.com/db/dk6qi/
FritzWue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum contents ©2003-2024 DRM Reception Project participants