DRM Software Radio Forums  

Go Back   DRM Software Radio Forums > DRM Software Radio - User Forums > Reception Results - Recent Posts
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2018, 03:45   #1
Braccini
Registered User
 
Braccini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brazil
Posts: 279
RNZ Pacific 13840 kHz in English

Hi Francisco

Well done , not easy over such a long distance.
You are the first report since we returned to 11690.
Next month we return to 13840 @ 2000 which maybe better for you.
Congratulations!

Adrian Sainsbury
Frequency Manager
__________________
Francisco Braccini
Cordial 73 from South of Brazil!
YouTube DRM Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/FranciscoBraccini
Braccini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2018, 18:55   #2
tpreitzel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,251
A terrible frequency for NA due to interference from WWCR @ 13845 kHz ... I know. I know. NA isn't in the target zone (ancient analog thinking) for their relays. I'm curious. If RNZI wants the highest quality for their relay, why not use the xHE-AAC codec? Surely, RNZI can decode the higher quality xHE-AAC codec in their network or does RNZI have another excuse for sticking with 64 QAM and AAC+? Why not deploy their relay via satellite? I know. I know. Satellite is allegedly much more expensive that a laser-like digital beam over HF. LoL

Personally, I'm waiting on just ONE decent commercial broadcaster to deploy digital shortwave correctly. I can wait.

Last edited by tpreitzel : 19-10-2018 at 19:29.
tpreitzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2018, 20:21   #3
Braccini
Registered User
 
Braccini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brazil
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpreitzel
A terrible frequency for NA due to interference from WWCR @ 13845 kHz ... I know. I know. NA isn't in the target zone (ancient analog thinking) for their relays. I'm curious. If RNZI wants the highest quality for their relay, why not use the xHE-AAC codec? Surely, RNZI can decode the higher quality xHE-AAC codec in their network or does RNZI have another excuse for sticking with 64 QAM and AAC+? Why not deploy their relay via satellite? I know. I know. Satellite is allegedly much more expensive that a laser-like digital beam over HF. LoL

Personally, I'm waiting on just ONE decent commercial broadcaster to deploy digital shortwave correctly. I can wait.
It's really hard for someone to do this correctly. More recently the station broadcasting on 16-QAM with Parametric Stereo was the CNR, but I do not know why the station switched to 64-QAM.

I am insisting on this with RRI but they do not respond when I specifically ask this question. Casting on 16-QAM is pretty good already, but at least + SBR should have for audio quality to be really good and similar to FM!
__________________
Francisco Braccini
Cordial 73 from South of Brazil!
YouTube DRM Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/FranciscoBraccini

Last edited by Braccini : 19-10-2018 at 20:32.
Braccini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:25.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.