DRM Software Radio Forums  

Go Back   DRM Software Radio Forums > DRM Software Radio - User Forums > Receiver Modifications
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2016, 18:54   #1
PhilipOneL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Eastern Newfoundland
Posts: 214
Replacement for tuning control on the MorphyRichards 27024?

I own two MorphyRichards 27024 sets. Both of them suffer somewhat from the main tuning control working *far* less effectively than it should. One of them has almost completely given up its ghost.

That tuning control is a turning button, much like an old-fashioned volume control (of which there is one right next to it). But, instead of a smooth, limited-arc turn, the tuning control has click stops, about two dozen of them in the 360 degrees (and it is not a limited arc -- it turns forever). Each of the click stops is supposed to accomplish something, and just exactly what depends on which part of the menu the user is in. For instance, when in Manual Tune mode, each click stop should move the tuning by 5 kHz; and, when in Named Station Mode, it should move from one to the next station. Sadly, the button has lost its ability to always make those changes, and -- with one of the sets -- this means it is nearly impossible to tune.

The button has one other function -- pushing it in "Enters" the information or changes the menu. This seems to work perfectly.

My hope is that this turning part is a standard part, perhaps used in other products and available to purchase so that someone handier than I am could replace the defective one.

Does anyone know?

Philip
PhilipOneL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 23:54   #2
PhilipOneL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Eastern Newfoundland
Posts: 214
Of course, maybe I'll just have to buy that new Gospell radio . . . if it doesn't cost arms and legs.

.
PhilipOneL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 07:21   #3
G0SVN
Administrator
 
G0SVN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Maidenhead UK
Posts: 2,917
Rotary Encoder

Hi Philip, you need to replace the Rotary Encoder, which I understand is available from

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9117

More information about the repair can be found here

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...s/messages/539
__________________
73 Neil G0SVN
G0SVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 02:26   #4
PhilipOneL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Eastern Newfoundland
Posts: 214
Oops. I thought I had responded to your tip, Neil. But it looks like I did not!

Thanks very much for the tip, which I have followed up on by buying two encoder switches. Both my MorphyRichards sets will no doubt need them eventually. And I just discovered that a little "Internet radio" I have seems to have the same part, and the same problem. Maybe I'll be ordering a third one. . . .

Thanks again.

Philip
PhilipOneL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.