DRM Software Radio Forums  

Go Back   DRM Software Radio Forums > DRM Software Radio - User Forums > Reception Results - Recent Posts
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2013, 19:33   #1
PP5AZF-Ataliba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: São José-SC-Brazil (GG52QK) - 27.34S 48.37W
Posts: 657
KTWR 15.570 khz

KTWR is planning a DRM test to Japan for May 24th and 25th. The transmission will be in Japanese on 15570 at 1230-1300 UT. KTWR will be beaming at a heading of 335 degrees, running a 75 kW, allowing Japanese listeners in Russia and the EU to tune in as well.

http://www.drm.org/?p=2126
__________________
Plataforma Brasileira do Digital Radio Mondiale
www.drm-brasil.org

ABRADIG - Associação Brasileira de Radio Digital
www.abradig.org.br

Amostras de áudio de algumas rádios DRM:
www.zandomenego.com/ataliba/drm

Youtube channel:
www.youtube.com/atalibazf
PP5AZF-Ataliba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2013, 21:01   #2
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shizuoka City, Japan
Posts: 9,830
And like Chris wrote on the 10th May regarding 15570 kHz (quote):

"We should have good side lobes into Southeast Asia and possibly India. The main beam should be quite strong in Europe. The main back lobe will be toward NZ. Thanks for your help.
Mike"
__________________
Regards,
Terje

https://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/web....index_en.html

Last edited by Digger : 23-05-2013 at 21:04.
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 13:40   #3
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shizuoka City, Japan
Posts: 9,830
Thumbs down AM QRM from China

China on the same frequency kills all DRM. 550 or 560 are free but 15570 is unfortunately impossible. Otherwise, 17.46 kbps would be OK for good reception in Scandinavia.
Attached Images
File Type: png china-qrm.png (19.1 KB, 186 views)
__________________
Regards,
Terje

https://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/web....index_en.html

Last edited by Digger : 24-05-2013 at 13:42.
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 14:04   #4
MARCEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast France
Posts: 389
Hello,

Yes is one other station in Asiatique language of this frequencie and I have Fading, little audio from 12H45 to 12H47 then only screen display SNR 6 to 11,7 maxi, is very dammage I no receive MOT Picture Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
__________________
DRM:
Mixer Platine MF9 Mhz with Dream

Antenna:
Mantova Turbo 5/8 wave for 27 mhz
Long Wire 80 meter
MARCEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 14:13   #5
Mitsuru Ito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Shizuoka-prf. JAPAN
Posts: 371
in JAPAN

It was strongest signal.
I must use attenuator.
DE JA2QDX M.Ito
PS;I have put VON's log file.
Attached Images
File Type: png 15570_130524_1230_JA2QDX.png (27.3 KB, 169 views)

Last edited by Mitsuru Ito : 25-05-2013 at 15:10.
Mitsuru Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 14:22   #6
DRM-Belarus
Registered User
 
DRM-Belarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minsk
Posts: 26
SNR was 9...15 dB in Minsk. Not enough to decode MSC QAM-64. But audio sometimes appeared. Unfortunately my DR111 didn`t log data once again :-( I was listening Radio Mayak yesterday for 3 hours. The same result, no logs. Occasional logging by DR111 is a little annoying.
DRM-Belarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 14:56   #7
tpreitzel
Registered User
 
tpreitzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,529
OT

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRM-Belarus
SNR was 9...15 dB in Minsk. Not enough to decode MSC QAM-64. But audio sometimes appeared. Unfortunately my DR111 didn`t log data once again :-( I was listening Radio Mayak yesterday for 3 hours. The same result, no logs. Occasional logging by DR111 is a little annoying.

One foolproof method of logging with the DR111 is to insert a SD card, then power-up. Tune to the desired DRM frequency and then try to save any audio by pressing and holding the <clock> key. If you get a silly message that the SD capacity is low, physically unplug the DR111's power source and then replug it. Repeat the aforementioned process of trying to save any audio by pressing and holding the <clock> key. If the recording proceeds ok, then simply stop the recording if desired by pressing and holding the <clock> key again which will save the brief recording. You know now for sure the logging will be saved to the SD card if you were able to briefly record to it. Yes, this procedure is a pain, but it's foolproof. CDNSE needs to address this issue among a few others in a firmware update...

Last edited by tpreitzel : 24-05-2013 at 15:47.
tpreitzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 15:14   #8
DRM-Belarus
Registered User
 
DRM-Belarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minsk
Posts: 26
Thanks for the guidance. I`ll try your method :-)

My method is to press "DRM" button in order to hear previously recorded audio on SD card (4th position). If "no playback file" is on the screen, then SD card is not available and I replug the power source. But as you see this approach doesn`t guarantee logging.
DRM-Belarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 15:24   #9
tpreitzel
Registered User
 
tpreitzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,529
At least, I THINK it's a foolproof method, but I've been wrong in other matters. Tread carefully and test. The key to reliable recording and logging with the DR111 seems to be removing and then reconnecting the power from the AC outlet to the unit after inserting a SD card. Use whatever method is easiest and most reliable.

Last edited by tpreitzel : 24-05-2013 at 16:14.
tpreitzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 16:32   #10
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shizuoka City, Japan
Posts: 9,830
Like I mentioned in a previous message, China on the same frequency killed all DRM here. 15.550 MHz or 15.560 MHz were free from signals but 15570 is unfortunately impossible. Otherwise, 17.46 kbps would be OK for good reception in Scandinavia. Due to the QRM it was not possible to download any pictures from the slide show. I believe the Chinese TX had a short failure (?) around 1245 UTC, and then the only burst of audio got through in DRM.


Regarding logs with DR111: Tune to a DRM signal, let the DR111 begin playing (or show a Label), then insert the SD Card. At the end of the log FIRST switch the DR111 to St.-By, THEN remove the SD Card!
Attached Images
File Type: png 15570-130524-1228-1258-Terje@SE.png (38.3 KB, 183 views)
__________________
Regards,
Terje

https://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/web....index_en.html

Last edited by Digger : 24-05-2013 at 16:36.
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 19:22   #11
mitajohn
Registered User
 
mitajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 6,773
May_24

As others mentioned the QRM too, here attached is a proof of that from my area.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 15570_20130524_mitajohn_qrmW.jpg (47.5 KB, 173 views)
__________________
Regards, John.
mitajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 22:26   #12
MARCEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast France
Posts: 389
Very difficult to receive KTWR, I have screen copie und little audio dammage not MOT Picture :

http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2013/...2611302744.jpg

Voir le Fichier : DRM_TWR-GUAM_24513_15570_12H30.mp3
__________________
DRM:
Mixer Platine MF9 Mhz with Dream

Antenna:
Mantova Turbo 5/8 wave for 27 mhz
Long Wire 80 meter
MARCEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2013, 14:22   #13
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shizuoka City, Japan
Posts: 9,830
Another chance, another try, another disappointment... The configuration of KTWR was favourable with 17.46 kbps, but the ionospheric conditions with Aurora:9, A:20 and K:4 were not in favour of DX:ing. Then, one minute into the transmission China started in AM on the same frequency. That transmitter seemed to go off the air just before 1245, but soon after another Chinese fired up 5 kHz down and splattered into KTWR's DRM spectrum ruining all odds of any decoded audio. All this effectively eliminated any chance of seeing any of the slides.
Attached Images
File Type: png 15570-130525-1228-1257-Terje@SE.png (43.0 KB, 165 views)
__________________
Regards,
Terje

https://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/web....index_en.html
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2013, 14:40   #14
MARCEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast France
Posts: 389
I have receive with very difficulty, SNR from 0 to 13,8 db but fading, 12H38 audio many cut, 12H47 signal to Up audio better to 12H48 signal SNR 13,4 12h50 to S6 no more audio :

http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2013/...4057349113.jpg

http://nsa34.casimages.com/img/2013/...4136953805.jpg
__________________
DRM:
Mixer Platine MF9 Mhz with Dream

Antenna:
Mantova Turbo 5/8 wave for 27 mhz
Long Wire 80 meter
MARCEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2013, 14:57   #15
Mitsuru Ito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Shizuoka-prf. JAPAN
Posts: 371
Angry in JAPAN

it was not strong today.
signal was 10dB over S9 by S meter of IC-R75
But yesterday signal was 20dB over S9
And there were strong interferencs.
DE JA2QDX M.Ito
Attached Images
File Type: png 15570_130525_1228_JA2QDX.png (30.0 KB, 182 views)
Mitsuru Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:48.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.