DRM Software Radio Forums  

Go Back   DRM Software Radio Forums > DRM Software Radio - User Forums > General Topics
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2014, 10:12   #1
F1BJB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beauvais France JN19BL
Posts: 631
Starting process of DRM TX

I suppose it is automated.
Could it give us information on the type of equipment ?
For example REE on 15585Khz first radiates a carrier with 2 side bands that
I believe are in quadrature as I don't hear them in AM mode
I'll try to wath more care fully and edit this post.
PS Today's starting process looked different and quicker
So maybe it is not automated.
Propagation was worse too.
And shame on me I forgot to record the process

Last edited by F1BJB : 15-05-2014 at 10:02.
F1BJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2014, 10:03   #2
Aetheradio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 61
Most would be automated and use commercial DRM modulators. RNZI is automated including frequency changes, the building is normally visited every 3 months only for checks. I havent been there but work with the techs who do that site, its about 200 km from the cities and studios, just sheep around the fields they surely stay warm at night. I think the AM service is on the other transmitter so the DRM is probably not changing modulations during the day, just the frequencies and antennas are swapping over on schedule.

You might be hearing a tuning carrier for before DRM transmission starts, some systems need to radiate a low power test tone to trim the transmitter circuits.
Aetheradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2014, 17:02   #3
F1BJB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beauvais France JN19BL
Posts: 631
Thanks for the info.
SW transmitters seems to be quite special because of their frequent
frequency and aerial change.
F1BJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2014, 11:37   #4
Per
Registered User
 
Per's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 676
Excel

Hi,
I know that my good old friend xfielder (R.I.P) used an Excel sheet with a special macro that controlled the SW transmitters of Radio Sweden. Hence it changed frequency and also curtain anenna. They had no control of the incoming audio, from Stockholm. That's why the program could end abruptly, because they had to change frequency or/and rotate a log periodic antenna, which took some time.
__________________
73's Per - SM0ITS
Per is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.