DRM Software Radio Forums  

Go Back   DRM Software Radio Forums > DRM Software Radio - User Forums > Soundcard Issues
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2012, 22:34   #1
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
Eton S450 and Dream on Inspiron 1564 no audio

I'm trying Dream 1.13 with an Eton S450 with Crispinos convertor and I decode data but no audio , I get 2 bars with a signal strength that's never beyond 50 % , ideas welcome, my Morphy Richards gives audio on same 6030Mhz
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 03:58   #2
mvs sarma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad, India
Posts: 218
WELCOME to DRMrx.com

i feel that the input preamp is needed at 455KHz. if the IF is different, perhaps you need to change the freq of resonator to make the output somewhere in the 10 to 15KHz as cetre point. the 12KHz output may have little more gain


finally i wonder that the dream has to be configured to accept mic input at 12KHz by selecting the suitable hardware.

all the best
PS: by model number, it appears that the 2nd if is 450KHz
the user manual is not clear whether the Fsockt behind (perhaps IF socket) outputs 450 or so KHz or converted 12KHz

ifg IF out is 450KHz, yopu need to use 465 or 467KHz resonator and try to pull it down to atleast 465 so that output would be 15KHz at the centre.
__________________
Regards,
Sarma
------------------
Elektor SDR 5/07- Elektor Preselektor - Miniwhip Antenna of PA0RDT

Last edited by mvs sarma : 23-03-2012 at 05:15.
mvs sarma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 06:59   #3
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
Thanks for your help, I did email Eton and they said the IF output was at 455kHz, so I used Crispinos 455 board, the Laptop also switches to Line Input when you plug in the board, and I have adjusted the levels
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 08:02   #4
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 8,213
Hi, did you try another version of Dream, i.e. 1.6.1 or 1.7.9? I have so far not succeded in getting any audio out of Dream 1.13 despite many tips and hints. I am running W7 on a cheap HP laptop.
__________________
Regards,
Terje

http://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/indexdrm_en.html
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 11:25   #5
mvs sarma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad, India
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digger
Hi, did you try another version of Dream, i.e. 1.6.1 or 1.7.9? I have so far not succeded in getting any audio out of Dream 1.13 despite many tips and hints. I am running W7 on a cheap HP laptop.
Dream 1.13 needs a .dll file
hope you have obtained that placed it in your folder. i once tried dream1.13 and succeeded''

PS: sorry it was about Dream Ver1.14


however, dream 1.13, doesnt haaccrpet remote tuning of the Rx hardware like elektoe usb sdr.
while ver1.12b does it
__________________
Regards,
Sarma
------------------
Elektor SDR 5/07- Elektor Preselektor - Miniwhip Antenna of PA0RDT

Last edited by mvs sarma : 23-03-2012 at 11:38.
mvs sarma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 11:44   #6
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 8,213
Hi Sarma,

I know, but so far no luck despite many helpful hints from Forum users. I am happy even with the 1.6.1 even that it always produces an error message when I close it under W7.
__________________
Regards,
Terje

http://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/indexdrm_en.html
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 13:14   #7
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
I tried 1.14 with the dll which someone compiled for me, no audio and complains about missing files when launched on Win7 64 bit, now trying 1.13, no errors but no audio, is there a guaranteed working copy of Dream around
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2012, 05:58   #8
gccradioscience
Registered User
 
gccradioscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 14
Exclamation Where Are The Converters At? This Is Becoming A Failure!!!

Where are the down converters at? Why are kit manufacturers not making them? Why are we not seeing DRM and they are just coming up with prototypes and BS? Is it a FCC, Gov issue?

DRM is a mode that short wave broadcasters are using, but the listener is trying to tune in, but will take forever to tune in and misses out. I feel that DRM is another mode that is for a limited audience, VIP's, the elite, someone who has a better income in the world with a top notch PC and a homebrewed and hacked down converter. And DRM is still a long lasting experiment and prototype (Coming To A Radio Shack Store Near You in 2016). Look where HD radio is going it's already in home theater receivers, would you ever see DRM+ in a home theater receiver? Maybe in 20 years from now.

Did you know that the Dream software you download does not have the codecs included? This digital radio transistion is a becoming a failure in my hobby all I have is HD radio on AM and FM and no DRM decoding. I bought a S-450DLX and now it's collecting dust and is junk why? Doe down-converter
ring a bell?

When someone tunes to that digital radio hash on shortwave they just suddenly stop listening unplug the antenna and then put the radio away days start to watch TV or get online and then that broadcaster is going to one day soon lose listenership and ratings go down and lose funding. We need to stop this listener drop out give us a assember digital radio mondiale converter and built DRM short wave receiver. A radio receiver we spend so much money on DRM is like your TV without the converter box tuning into just static.
gccradioscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2012, 10:18   #9
mvs sarma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad, India
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianf
I tried 1.14 with the dll which someone compiled for me, no audio and complains about missing files when launched on Win7 64 bit, now trying 1.13, no errors but no audio, is there a guaranteed working copy of Dream around

yes
faad_drm.dll or some such file would be called for
take from me but i had used it under winxp

check a pm sent to you.
__________________
Regards,
Sarma
------------------
Elektor SDR 5/07- Elektor Preselektor - Miniwhip Antenna of PA0RDT

Last edited by mvs sarma : 24-03-2012 at 10:21.
mvs sarma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2012, 21:12   #10
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
I agree, I dont know why there isnt a hardware down convertor from IF to DRM audio and a display, surely Eton could make one to sell as an accessory for their radios, or Pure in the UK could easily do it, but Ofcom and the UK Govt. are still being slow in the UK, its not at all a mass market product.
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:23   #11
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
Still no audio, I get 2 bars green, and everything green in Dream but not the MSC top one, that is RED, have emailed Eton again over exact IF output frequency, as I suspect you are correct that its not 455kHz as they say, I'm going to try the official DRM software as well.
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:31   #12
Digger
Registered User
 
Digger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 8,213
Hi, could you make a screen shot of the Dream "Evaluation Dialog" showing the "Input Spectrum" under "Spectrum" in the "Chart Selector" drop-down menu?
__________________
Regards,
Terje

http://www.hobbyradio.se/en/drm/indexdrm_en.html
Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:48   #13
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
Yes I will, when I get home, I suspect we will find its not centred on 12kHz
Thanks for your help
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 21:05   #14
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
Here is my Dream graph on 9950 tonight
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (57.5 KB, 144 views)
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 21:23   #15
ianf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: E Devon Uk
Posts: 279
And this as well thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture1.PNG (22.1 KB, 112 views)

Last edited by ianf : 04-04-2012 at 21:26.
ianf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.