DRM Software Radio Forums

DRM Software Radio Forums (http://www.drmrx.org/forum/index.php)
-   General Topics (http://www.drmrx.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   DRMcalc (http://www.drmrx.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1223)

carknue 16-10-2005 20:03

New version of DRMcalc
 
I just uploaded the new version 4.0 of DRMcalc. The new features are:

- extended SNR scale to 44dB
- a more detailed time scale
- hardcopy direct to your windows printer
- TX location update is always enabled ( let me know, if you miss a location)
- improved color scheme

Free download as usual at:
http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drm.htm

dk8cb 16-10-2005 22:00

Re: DRMcalc
 
Quote:

Originally posted by carknue

- TX location update is always enabled

I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that.

Roland

carknue 16-10-2005 23:10

Re: Re: DRMcalc
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dk8cb


I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that.

Roland


Here is the code of the TX location update function for those who don't trust it. First URL is just a trigger for a downloadcounter. Here is nothing downladed because this function cannot execute the download script. The second downloads the drmtx.txt file and that is a simple text file.

if chkupdate.Checked then
begin
Memo1.Lines.Text:=GetURLByIndy('http://www.downloadcounter.com/cgi-bin/download.pl?username=carknue&account=66');
Memo1.Lines.Text:=GetURLByIndy('http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drmtx.txt');
if Memo1.Lines.Text<>'' then
begin
StringList1:=TStringList.Create;
StringList2:=TStringList.Create;
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.new');
StringList1.LoadFromFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.new');
try
StringList2.LoadFromFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
except
end;
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: ok';
if StringList1.count = StringList2.count then
begin
for t:=0 to StringList1.Count-1 do
begin
if StringList1[t]<>StringList2[t] then
begin
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: updated';
end;

end;
end
else
begin
Memo1.Lines.SaveToFile(ExePfad+'drmtx.txt');
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: updated';
end;
end
else
begin
StatusBar1.Panels[2].Text:='TX location update: failed!';
//showmessage('Update failed');
end;
end;

Owdjim 17-10-2005 02:14

Hi Carsten

What will happen when I use DRMcalc on my laptop with no internet connection? Will I have to wait for it to "time out" before I can graph logs?

Cheers, Chris

FritzWue 17-10-2005 09:01

Hi Carsten,
thank you for your work with DRMcalc,

but I agree with Roland:
"I'm sorry to say that I don't like any software to connect to somewhere without it having a built-in feature to disable that."

Here both radio pcs are not connected to the internet, so this feature is useless for me anyway. I get the updates by starting the software on a different pc from time to time and the data transfer with usb stick or old fashioned with a:\.
Unfortunately even inserting the line "Auto Update=0" in the DRMcalc.ini does not work any more.

Sorry to say: The new look in black is terrible. Where can I change that to a more eye friendly and better readable design?

@Chris: The delay is about two seconds on a 3GHz P4 system, will probably take a little longer on a slower system.

I went back to DRMcalc3.1 and will not install the 4.0 version on my notebook.

Digger 17-10-2005 11:49

Quote:

Originally posted by FritzWue
Sorry to say: The new look in black is terrible.


Hi Carsten,

Unfortunately, I have to say the same thing. Why not put a parameter in so you could have a choice of either black or gray (like in the Dream Setup)?

Back to 3.1

Terje

mitajohn 17-10-2005 12:39

Hi Carsten,

Very good work done, but unfortunately, I agree with the comments made.

Back to 3.1 !

John

carknue 17-10-2005 22:24

It is not necessary to have an open internet connection in order to work with DRMcalc 4.0. The delay should only be 1-2 seconds. DRMcalc is fully functional without an internet connection.

My intension behind is, to avoid screenshots in this forum that contains either no TX-RX distance calculations or wrong distances. The distance and direction from TX is quite important, especially for broadcasters.

I changed the background color, because there were some complaints about the legibility of the yellow graph on some XP desktops schemes. Now there is a maximum legibility on all desktop schemes and this is also important.

Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors and it would be quite difficult to compare the results.

dk8cb 17-10-2005 23:02

Quote:

Originally posted by carknue
It is not necessary to have an open internet connection in order to work with DRMcalc 4.0. The delay should only be 1-2 seconds. DRMcalc is fully functional without an internet connection.

Hi Carsten,

if one has an open internet connection but has denied DRMcalc the right to access this connection through an appropriately configured firewall or if one has to do this manually (because the programme does not contain such a feature itself), then it will take longer!

If DRMCalc does not have the switch built-in anymore, what then is the function of the checkbox, marked in the attachment?

Quote:

Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors ...

It is very strange to read this in a statement from someone who, in the past, was among the first ones to modify Dream for a different color scheme in accordance with his personal taste.

Roland

FritzWue 18-10-2005 04:45

Hello Carsten,

some thoughts:

-
"My intension behind is, to avoid screenshots in this forum that contains either no TX-RX distance calculations or wrong distances. The distance and direction from TX is quite important, especially for broadcasters."
-

I think there is only a very low percentage of beginner's reports with missing distances, and you still depend on the user to use the right coordinates. So a correct distance is still not sure.

-
"I changed the background color, because there were some complaints about the legibility of the yellow graph on some XP desktops schemes. Now there is a maximum legibility on all desktop schemes and this is also important."
-

Maybe for programmes and machines, I cannot read the scaling lines anymore.

-
"Everybody has a different taste and that is the reason why I will not make colors user changeable. Then everybody would have his own colors and it would be quite difficult to compare the results."
-

For me this all is not a matter of taste but - as you want- a matter of legibility. Why not use a white background and something different than yellow then. I don't care if it's white or grey background, but black is the worst solution for my eyes.

By the way, I just tested the printing option with my Epson printer.
Do you have a contract with the ink industry? :D
My printer really prints the black background, the paper is all wet! :mad:

Again I think white background would be the best solution.

Regards
Friedrich Wuelfing
DK6QI

mitajohn 18-10-2005 13:03

Hello Carsten,

In addition to the above, it is obvious that you cannot add a black text, as comment, on the black graph background...

John.

carknue 18-10-2005 20:50

DRMcalc 4.0a released
 
I just uploaded DRMcalc 4.0a with two fixes:

- TX location update can be disabled again by user
- changed graphic window background from black to white in hardcopy


If someone cannot see the scalelines, I would strongly recommend to adjust brightness and constrast levels of the monitor with a full greyscale testpattern.

Free Download as usual:
http://home.arcor.de/carsten.knuetter/drm.htm

Bob 18-10-2005 23:26

Hi Carsten,
I have just downloaded and tried out v4.0a - it's great - I can read the scale lines and it's prints very nicely !
Congratulations again on a nice piece of software.

regards
Bob

mitajohn 19-10-2005 06:25

Hi Carsten,

Congratulations again on this nice piece of software, but please listen to this:
If someone adds i.e a color text comment on the black background will not be printed the same and if it is white collored text then will not be printed on the white background.
My proposal is to add a parameter to have a user defined background, white, black or windows grey.

John.

FritzWue 19-10-2005 07:17

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally posted by mitajohn
My proposal is to add a parameter to have a user defined background, white, black or windows grey.

John.


Like this? ;)
Fritz


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:23.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.