PDA

View Full Version : Morphy Richards DRM radio, and a possible solution?

ljones
10-01-2007, 21:02
Hello all,

While I don't have a PC/software-based DRM radio yet I have just recently gotten started with listening to DRM-based transmissions. To start off with, I bought the Morphy Richards DRM radio which is currently being mentioned all over the internet. It is quite dissapointing that it has no option for an external ariel but I am thinking I might have a possible solution, though I am no expert and I am guessing on this.

After reading about the MR (Morphy Richards) radio online (and finding out it dosen't have an external ariel socket) I noticed one person suggested (I forget which forum though!) that to attach an external antenna all you need to do is to connect a longwire ariel to the MR's telescopic antenna via a short cable and crocodile clips.

In my case, I do not have a longwire ariel, however I do have a wellbrook ALA1530 loop ariel. I usually use it with my (analogue) scanner - both of which are 50 Ohm impedance.

So I tried to connect this to the MR with a short cable and crocodile clips, but it made no difference. A reading on the same forum where I found this information out about trying to do this ( I forget where it is ) someone later mentioned that it didn't work for them either.

Not sure as to why, I decided to repeat this with a different radio. For this, I tried connecting the antenna using crocodile clips to an old Grundig City boy 1100 - this radio like the MR can receive LW,SW,MW and FM - but being around 30 years old no sign of digital(!). Intrestingly, the same thing happened - namely there was no improvement by attaching the ariel to the grundig's telescopic antenna in this way.